100 block of South Montezuma Street in Prescott, Arizona
has long been known as Whiskey Row, for the numerous
saloons that once lined the street. As Prescott poet
Gail Gardner once wrote of "Whiskey Row":
for larger image
they starts her in at the Kaintucky bar,
at the head of Whiskey Row,
and they winds up down by the Depot House,
some forty drinks below."
July 14, 1900, this block was totally destroyed by
fire. Within a few days of the fire, new construction
was underway in brick and masonry. Most of the buildings
on this block were constructed between the fall of
1900 and 1905, and include Sam'l Hill Hardware Company,
the Highland Hotel, the Palace, the Levy Building,
and the Hotel St. Michael. All of these buildings
are constructed with permanence and appearance in
mind in styles typical of early 20th century buildings.
of the color and stories of Prescott originated in
this one block landmark that still celebrates
that fact that it once hosted over 40 saloons. If you
have ever been to Downtown Prescott and witnessed "The
Row", it would be hard to imagine that so many
saloons could have fit on one block. Prior to 1877, "The
Row" was rumored to have been located a couple
blocks to the west of its present location. But it
was moved due to the insistence of many of the local
employers and wives, because the patrons of "The
Row" had to cross a foot bridge over Granite Creek
to return home and in the wet season, some of the more
sot would fall into this very shallow creek and drown.
buildings were architecturally progressive, such
as Sam'l Hill Hardware Company, or architecturally
outstanding, such as the Palace and the Hotel St.
Michael. All present a united front to the Courthouse
Plaza, resulting in a unique turn-of-the-century
facade which is essentially intact today.